16.—Legislatures and Premiers of Nova Scotia, 1933-54, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1954

Legislatures, 1933-541

Date of Election	Legislature	Number of Sessions	Date of First Opening	Date of Dissolution		
Aug. 22, 1933 June 29, 1937 Oct. 28, 1941 Oct. 23, 1945 June '9, 1949 May 26, 1953	17th General Assembly. 18th General Assembly. 19th General Assembly. 20th General Assembly. 21st General Assembly. 22nd General Assembly.	4 4 4	Mar. 1, 1934 Mar. 1, 1938 Feb. 19, 1942 Mar. 14, 1946 Mar. 21, 1950 Feb. 24, 1954	May 20, 1937 Sept. 19, 1941 Sept. 12, 1945 Apr. 27, 1949 Apr. 14, 1953 2		

¹ The Ministries from 1933-54 were: 12th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 5, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald; 13th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1940, under the leadership of Hon. A. S. MacMillan; 14th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 8, 1945, under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald; 15th Ministry, sworn in Apr. 13, 1954, under the leadership of Hon. Harold Connolly.² Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1954.

Fifteenth Ministry¹

(Party standing at latest General Election, May 26, 1953: 22 Liberals, 12 Progressive Conservatives, 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and one vacancy.)

Note.—See headnote	to	Table	19,
--------------------	----	-------	-----

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, Minister of Public Health and Welfare. Minister of Highways and Public Works. Minister without portfolio (in charge of administration of Nova Scotia Liquor Control Act). Attorney General and Minister of Mines and Labour. Provincial Secretary and Minister of Education. Provincial Treasurer and Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Trade and Industry. Minister of Trade and Industry. Minister of Agriculture and Market- ing.	Hon. HABOLD CONNOLLY Hon. A. W. MACKENZIE Hon. GEOFFREY STEVENS Hon. M. A. PATTERSON, Q.C Hon. M. A. PATTERSON, Q.C Hon. R. M. FIELDING, Q.C Hon. W. T. DAUPHINEE Hon. A. B. DEWOLFE Hon. COLIN H. CHISHOLM	Sept. 8, 1945 Apr. 4, 1946 June 10, 1947 Sept. 30, 1949 Dec. 7, 1949 Sept. 5, 1950 Sept. 5, 1950	June 11, 1954 Apr. 13, 1954

¹ As at June 15, 1954.

Subsection 4.-New Brunswick

The Government of New Brunswick has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly.

The Honourable David Laurence MacLaren, the present Lieutenant-Governor, was commissioned to office Nov. 1, 1945. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 89.

The General Assembly elected Sept. 22, 1952, is the 42nd in New Brunswick's history and the 15th since Confederation. It has 52 members who are elected for a statutory term of five years.

The Premier receives \$5,000 per annum in addition to the salary for any other portfolio he may hold. The salary of each Cabinet Minister is \$5,000, the amount paid as indemnity to each Member of the House of Assembly is \$2,000, plus an